Skip to main content

Dr. Eric Youngstrom, Professor of Clinical Psychology, is the 2020 recipient of the Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award.

The Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award Trust was established in 2008 under the Will of Gail McKnight Beckman. Wells Fargo Bank, N. A. serves as the trustee. Gail McKnight Beckman created the award in memory of her mother, Dr. Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman. Dr. Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman was an educator, a renowned author, and a pioneer in the field of Psychology. She was one of the first female Psychology professors at Columbia University and she taught at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Beckman authored nine books and textbooks about child and adolescent Psychology. Dr. Beckman was a champion of gender equality and an advocate for the advancement of women in academia.

A trailblazer in her own right, Gail McKnight Beckman created the Beckman award to benefit teachers who have inspired their former students to make a difference in their communities. The award is given to current or former academic faculty members who have inspired their former students to “create an organization which has demonstrably conferred a benefit on the community at large.” Or, the academic faculty member must have inspired their former students to “establish on a lasting basis a concept, procedure, or movement of comparable benefit to the community at large.”

Dr. Youngstrom received a one-time award of $25,000 and was selected for inspiring former student and alum Mian-Li Ong to make a significant difference in the community. Their work with the HGAPS (Helping Give Away Psychological Science) inspires transformational work in mental health and the community. Congratulations!

Comments are closed.